Certification Course for Returning Officers of Parliamentary Constituencies Starts in Ludhiana

Ludhiana – In view of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019, the Election Commission of India, under the supervision of Additional Chief Election Officer (CEO) Punjab Mrs Kavita Singh, is organising a two-day Certification course for returning officers of Parliamentary constituencies. This course is being organised at Bachat Bhawan, here today.

On the first day of this certification course, the Deputy Commissioners and other senior officers were sensitised about necessary preparations to be made and ways in which free and fair elections are to be conducted.

Prominent among those who attended today’s certification course included Deputy Commissioner (DC) Ludhiana Mr Pradeep Kumar Agrawal, DC Kapurthala Mr Mohammad Tayyab, DC Jalandhar Mr Varinder Kumar Sharma, DC Patiala Mr Kumar Amit, DC Mansa Miss Apneet Riyait, DC Hoshiarpur Mrs Isha Kalia, DC Pathankot Mr Rambir, DC Gurdaspur Mr Vipul Ujjwal, DC Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar Mr Vinay Bublani, DC Rupnagar Mr Sumit Jarangal, DC Sahibzada Ajit Singh Nagar Mrs Gurpreet Kaur Sapra, ADC (Development) Ludhiana Dr Shena Aggarwal, ADC (Jagraon) Mrs Neeru Katyal Gupta, ADC SBS Nagar Mrs Amrit Singh, ADC Gurdaspur Mr Subhash Chander, ERO Amritsar Central Mr Saurabh Arora, SDM Hoshiarpur Mrs Amarpreet Kaur Sandhu, AC (UT) Ludhiana Mr Sagar Setia, AC (UT) Mr Himanshu Jain, besides several others.

Several presentations on various topics related to the elections were presented by senior government officers.

On the first day, DC Mansa Miss Apneet Riyait gave a presentation on the topic “Role and responsibility as District Election Officer and Returning Officer”, Deputy Director (ULB)-cum-ERO 017 Amritsar Central constituency gave a presentation covering various aspects of electoral rolls, booth level plan of polling station etc, ADC SBS Nagar Mrs Amrit Singh on “Vulnerability mapping and deployment of security personnel, DEMP and constituency plan”, ADC Gurdaspur Mr Subhash Chander on qualifications and disqualifications, nominations by candidates and on scrutiny of nomination papers, withdrawal of candidature and allotment of symbols to contesting candidates and risk management, Regional Transport Authority Faridkot Mr Hardeep Singh on polling personnel/logistics/polling material, management/training management and ADC Kapurthala Mr Rahul Chaba on Model Code of Conduct, election expenditure and monitoring.

During this course, Mrs Kavita Singh, Additional CEO Punjab, urged all the officers to ensure that the upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 are conducted in a free and fair manner.